Explore our luxurious Beaufort, North Carolina B&B. Meet the innkeepers and learn the history behind this premier bed and breakfast inn on Carolina coast.
New Innkeepers at This Beaufort, North Carolina B&B
As new owners of the Pecan Tree Inn. Stan and Christine look forward to welcoming you to their Beaufort B&B. After spending many years in the Denver area, immersed in corporate business, they have decided to change career venues and slow down the pace in historical, Beaufort, North Carolina. Stan has hung up his snow boots and one hour commute to Denver International Airport after 30 years with FedEx, to boat shoes and a 30-second commute welcoming guests and working on this historic 1866 home. Christine hung up her business suits and corporate travel in the Commercial Real Estate industry to enjoy her passion for gourmet cooking and entertaining. Stan and Christine have between them, five children and seven grandchildren.
They are so excited to be a part of the wonderful hidden gem of the Carolina Coast: Beaufort.
History Before Becoming a Beaufort, North Carolina B&B
The Pecan Tree Inn sits on a lot deeded to the Franklin Masonic Lodge in 1866 by Rebecca Piggott. The laying of the cornerstone was celebrated by members of the lodge, and of the other lodges in town, all decked out in full regalia. The parade proceeded down Front Street to the Queen Street site. Being one of the larger buildings in Beaufort, the Franklin Masonic Lodge doubled as a schoolhouse. Subsequent years saw it used for Sunday school, a tea house, a doctor’s office and an apartment house (popular with students at the Duke Marine Labs). Long-time Beaufort residents still stop by from time to time to share stories of taking music lessons in what is now our Burgundy Room, or taking afternoon tea in the dining room. Hugh Jones converted the lodge into his private residence in 1900, adding five bedrooms and three beautiful Victorian porches. The Jones house was the first in Beaufort to have gas lighting, indoor plumbing and a telephone, according to legend. It’s said that Mrs. Jones insisted that the phone be installed on a pine tree in the yard in case it were to attract a lightning strike. The Jones house was converted to a bed & breakfast inn in 1992 by Joe and Susan Johnson.